Assignment One: Part Three

Read Part One

Read Part Two

POSTCARD 1 FINAL

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 11.55.17
Postcard 1 Front

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 15.07.15
Postcard 1 Alt Front

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 11.40.17
Postcard 1 Back

I am fairly pleased with this postcard. I’m conflicted about the colour choice of the first one as I decided to play it safe. I much prefer the second postcard, but wasn’t confident about submitting it on it’s own. I really enjoyed adding the textures. The colours were copied from an Andrew Fairclough illustration, and I used a technique from one of his tutorials on texturing. Whilst it’s not the main component of the illustration, it doesn’t feel as original as it could because of this. In retrospect, I would probably align the background texture so that the folds fit with the badges. It didn’t bother me until I’d finished and didn’t have time to change it.

I think these postcards are successful in communicating my influences and interests. To improve this postcard I would probably have experimented more with the layout (I’m not even sure how) and tried making even simpler badges, but more of them.

Here were some other colour combinations that I liked but did not submit:

UPDATE

Since submitting my postcard to my tutor I redid the texturing on postcard 1, so disturbed was I by the folds being out of alignment with the badges. I thought I didn’t mind it, and that I wouldn’t touch photoshop to amend it for at least a week (my wrists and eyeballs loathe me at this point), but it was playing on my mind. Here is the edited postcard.

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 21.49.02

POSTCARD 2 FINAL

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 11.57.01
Postcard 2 Front
Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 12.06.30
Postcard 2 Back

I enjoyed making this postcard. My layout skills leave much to be desired and I’m not sure how effective the hand written elements were. I think if I were to make this again, I would do it all in Illustrator Photoshop, that way it would still look hand drawn. I like the hand painted elements, and I realise it could be considered time-intensive, but this postcard was the quickest to make of the three.

POSTCARD 3 FINAL

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 12.11.25
Postcard 1 Front
Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 01.57.29
Postcard 3 Back
Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 12.16.16
Alternative Postcard 3

I think this is my favourite postcard of the three. I think I have lost some of the detail from my original sketches, but I didn’t have enough time to add more. I think it communicates a little about my interests and my creative process, but only a little.  I am fairly pleased with the sparing use of colour, I think the sea appears to give depth, and along with the text at the bottom, I think it successfully brings to mind the tourist postcards I was influenced by. I like the alternative colour postcard better, but chose not to submit it as I don’t think it has enough contrast where the smaller text is concerned and I don’t have the time to fix this. But the colour combinations are really pleasing to my eye, and I love the way the colours have made it look like a completely different image.

UPDATE  (10.2.16): Here are some more colours I tried for Postcard 3 but didn’t choose:

*All of the images above are screenshots, i hope to upload higher quality pics soon*

For more reflection on Assignment One and the course so far, please click here.

 

 

One thought on “Assignment One: Part Three

Leave a Reply

