REFLECTING ON ASSIGNMENT ONE

It has taken me a few days to gather my thoughts about the first assignment.

The week of the assignment, I happened to have a week off work, and spent 10-12 hours a day working on my postcards. I will discuss how I feel about this and how I can change my strategy in a future post.

I think I perhaps was overthinking the brief too much. I was so indecisive about what the postcards should be about, individually and collectively, that I wasted a lot of energy in the first few weeks. I think I should have made some decisions early on and stuck to my guns. This would have given me more time to execute my ideas. I was too worried I was interpreting the brief incorrectly (“my wider interests, or my wider cultural interests?” “Does each postcard represent one of these things or all?” etc.).

One of the reasons I had to work so hard in the final week was because I gave myself a deadline, not really thinking about the fact that it only left me with 5 weeks to complete the assignment. This may seem like a lot of time, but for the amount of work I was planning to do (including learning certain software skills from scratch), it wasn’t adequate, and the only reason I managed to complete it to a standard I was satisfied with was because I had a week off work.

I don’t feel like I rushed at all, apart from at the very end, when submitting my postcards. An eye for detail is something that I know is crucial for graphic designers, and something that I very much need to work on. I’m the sort of person who can proof read an essay 10 times, only to submit it and immediately find a typo. In this instance, I submitted a postcard and about an hour later noticed something off with the alignment. I think if I had a day or two off after finishing the postcard, I would have picked up on this before sending it to my tutor.

Looking back, I think my postcards were mostly successful at meeting the brief. I think they reveal a lot about me and my likes and interests to somebody who doesn’t know me. I also think they show my strengths and weaknesses as a designer, which is, I guess, the point of the assignment when you get down to it. I don’t know much about colour theory & layout, and we have not touched on these in the course yet, so I’m okay with the fact that these weakness are evident. I look forward to rectifying this.

Something that I’m still not sure about, is wether or not I would consider these postcards to be utilising graphic design or illustration, or if they are both. These distinctions are sometimes very clear to me, and other times, not so much.

Lex

10.2.16

Update: Read about my tutor feedback here. 31.3.16

One thought on “REFLECTING ON ASSIGNMENT ONE

Leave a Reply

